Join us again at KubeCrash this October - crash courses on cloud native tech

Written by

Written by Richard Collins

‚Äč

			Join us again at KubeCrash this October - crash courses on cloud native tech

Published on our Cloud Native Blog.
Tagged with

Virtual. Free. 100% Open Source.

Folllowing the success of the KubeCrash spring event in May to concinide with KubeCon EU, Jetstack has again teamed up with a collective of cloud native open source innovators and maintainers to create KubeCrash - a virtual event to take place this October to help you get match-fit for KubeCon NA. KubeCrash is a virtual learning event created by major cloud native companies to give you practical know-how and new development skills. Hosted on October 5 and 6, this virtual, free, and 100% focused on open source event will be held across both European and Americas-friendly timezones. Check out the program and register today.

About KubeCrash

To make it easy for engineers across all time zones to participate, KubeCrash Fall Day 1 will broadcast live from 3 pm to 6 pm Central European Time, and Day 2 from 12 pm to 3 pm Eastern / 9 am to 12 pm Pacific Time. KubeCrash is hosted by seven open source companies who’ve teamed up to bring you top-notch, KubeCon-grade crash courses on cloud native tech. No vendor pitches, just awesome open source content on projects such as Linkerd, cert-manager, CockroachDB, Pulumi, Polaris, and Goldilocks. Check out the last KubeCrash’s talks to get a sense of what to expect.

Why open source

When it comes to enterprise-grade cloud native tooling, DevOps teams often drive the technology choices that are used to build Kubernetes production environments. Widely recognized as lower cost and more secure than proprietary software, we increasingly see engineers gravitate toward freely available open source. Open source can also be significantly easier to integrate and support than closed source solutions, which is why engineers love using them. In short, open source has become critical to any modern technology stack. KubeCrash aims to help engineering teams develop their skill set to leverage these technologies to deploy and use for their own environments. Over the course of 2 days this October, developers, reliability engineers, cloud security specialists, and platform engineers, can use KubeCrash to learn directly from the maintainers of some of the most popular open source projects.

The KubeCrash program

The KubeCrash schedule is packed with great content and actionable insights provided directly from thought leaders and the teams that maintain some of the ecosystem’s most popular open source projects. Offering keynotes from leading names in the ecosystem, educating on the latest CNCF resources, curated technical sessions and workshops, and end-user case studies, there’s no shortage of amazing choices.

Day 1: Wednesday, October 5 (European and East Americas-friendly timezone)

3 to 6 pm CET | 9 am to 12 pm EST | 8 to 11 am CST

Keynote: to be announced

Lighting talk: Intro to the CNCF Cloud Native Maturity Model by Danielle Cook, Co-chair CNCF Cartografos Group

Whose cert is it anyway? How to build TLS trust using cert-manager by Ashley Davis, cert-manager team

Going Straight to the Edge by Dinesh Majrekar and Mark Boost, founders of Civo

Debugging Microservices “Remocally” in Kubernetes with Telepresence by Daniel Bryant, Head of DevRel, Ambassador Labs

Hands-on workshop: Service mesh observability with Linkerd by Flynn, Linkerd team and Emissary-ingress maintainer

Day 2: Thursday, October 6 (Americas-friendly timezone)

12 to 3 pm EST | 11 am to 2 pm CST | 9 am to 12 pm PST

Keynote: Cheryl Hung, Engineering Manager, Apple

Lighting talk: The CNCF Cloud Native Glossary: Trusted. Simple. Community-driven by Catherine Paganini, Cloud Native Glossary Maintainer

Getting Started with Kubernetes Guardrails with Polaris by Andy Suderman Creator and Maintainer of Goldilocks and Stevie Caldwell, Creator of GoNoGo

CockroachDB end user story

Hands-on workshop: Program the Cloud with Six Pearls in Six Languages using Pulumi by Aaron Friel, Staff Software Engineer, Pulumi

Check out the program page for more detail.

Join us on October 5 and 6 for a specifically curated set of sessions, each led by a project maintainer, from projects covering modern cloud native security to improving the developer experience. It will be live, interactive, and fun. Register now!

Get started with Jetstack

Enquire about Subscription

Contact us